Research Group Mobility, diffusion and transfer of ions in solids

lead by Prof. Dr. Paul Heitjans | Lower Saxony Professorship

The Heitjans working group was dedicated to the topics of mobility, diffusion, microdynamics and transport of ions in solids within the framework of a Lower Saxony professorship awarded to the holder after his retirement as professor of physical chemistry.

Research profile

The research topics are initially aligned with the key themes of the DFG research group FOR 1277 Mobility of Lithium Ions in Solids (molife), which was initiated by the working group. Basic research questions addressed here, such as the influence of structural disorder and low-dimensionality on diffusivity and ion conductivity or the causes of extremely fast or slow transport of ions in different solids (crystalline, nanocrystalline, glassy, nanoglassy), also represent a highly attractive area of basic solid-state research, especially solid-state electrochemistry, in the long term.

  • Research topics

    Phenomena and Properties

    • dynamical and kinetic processes in solids
    • diffusion and transport phenomena on atomic scale
    • local atomic and electronic structure in solids, local disorder effects
    • interfaces in solids
    • defect properties
    • dimensionality of ionic motion (hexagonal vs cubic LixTiS2: 2D vs 3D)
    • mechanochemical phenomena
    • heterogeneous catalysis
    • mixed alkali effect in glasses


    • nanocrystalline materials, ceramics, composite materials (CaF2, Li2O:X2O3 (X = Al, B), etc.)
    • glassy and crystalline ionic conductors (LiNbO3, lithium alumosilicates, etc.)
    • intercalation compounds, layered structures (Li3N, hexagonal and cubic LixTiS2, LiC6, etc.)
    • intermetallic compounds (LiAl, etc.)
    • monoconducting polymer electrolytes
    • photocatalysts (TiO2)


    • nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy:
      • spin-lattice relaxation in laboratory and rotating reference frames
      • lineshape analysis
      • static and pulsed field gradient spectroscopy (SFG/PFG)
      • spin-alignment echo (SAE) NMR for the detection of ultra-slow Li motions
    • β-radiation detected NMR (β-NMR) after neutron capture
    • AC impedance spectroscopy in the low-frequency and radiofrequency regime
    • quasi-elastic neutron scattering (QENS)

    Sample Characterization

    • X-ray diffraction (XRD)
    • scanning electron microscopy (SEM)
    • transmission electron microscopy (TEM)
    • differential thermoanalyis (DTA)
    • infrared spectroscopy (IR)
    • surface area analysis by nitrogen adsorption
  • Previous and current cooperation partners

    EN [Text: Kooperationen]

    • Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of Giessen
    • Institute for Solid State Research, Forschungszentrum Jülich
    • Berlin Neutron Scattering Center, Hahn-Meitner-Institut Berlin
    • Institute of Mineralogy, University of Hannover
    • Institute for Technical Chemistry, University of Hanover Working Group Prof. Dr. D. Hesse
    • Institute of Energy Technology, Technical University Berlin
    • German Institute for Rubber Technology, Hanover
    • Institute of Physical Chemistry, University of Münster
    • Materials Group, Dept. Physics, University of Wales, Aberystwyth, UK Dr. R. Winter. Prof. Dr. N. Greaves
    • Institute for Inorganic Chemistry, University of Kiel Working Group Prof. Dr. W. Bensch
    • Institute for Inorganic Chemistry, University of Hannover Working Group Prof. Dr. M. Binnewies
    • Institute for Theoretical Chemistry, University of Bonn Working Group PD Dr. T. Bredow
    • Institute for Physical Chemistry, University of Braunschweig Working Group Prof. Dr. K. D. Becker
    • SERC Daresbury Laboratories, UK, Dr. A. Dent.
    • Institute of Physical Chemistry, RWTH Aachen University Prof. Dr. M. Martin, Dr. R. De Souza
    • Chair of Technical Chemistry, Ruhr-Universität Bochum Prof. Dr. W. Grünert

Head of the group

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Paul Heitjans
Emeritus/Retired Professors
Callinstraße 3a
30167 Hannover
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Paul Heitjans
Emeritus/Retired Professors
Callinstraße 3a
30167 Hannover